How Much Do You Know About Those Certifications for EVSE?

Wissenergy will send our products for prerequisite test before exporting 


Photo source: 

From a geographical point of view, EVSE market is mainly divided into North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, and Rest of the World. Different regional markets have their own standards and requirements for imported products. This article will focus on the standards set by the European and American markets for imported products, as well as the specific requirements for imported EVSE products, and introduce some relevant certifications in detail.

To begin with, whether it is the European market or the North American market, they have universal for all products entering the border. For example, CE certification in Europe, CSA certification in North America, etc. In addition, for EVSE products, there are some specific certification standards for quality and safety in different regions. For example, RoHS certification. We will take a closer look at these certifications below.

CE certification

Generally speaking, CE certification is a compulsory certification of the European Union and is a safety certification mark. CE stands for European Unification (CONFORMITE EUROPEENNE). All products with the CE mark can be sold in EU member states without meeting the requirements of each member state, thus realizing the free circulation of goods within the EU member states.

RoHS certification

RoHS is actually a Restriction of Hazardous Substances Directive 2002/95/EC, which is an environmental directive (but not a law) passed by the European Union in February 2003, mainly targeting product composition and engineering process standards in manufacturing. The European Union began to implement RoHS on July 1, 2006, and electrical and electronic products that use or contain heavy metals, PBDEs, PBBs and other flame retardants are not allowed to enter the EU market. RoHS is aimed at all electrical and electronic products that may contain specific hazardous substances in the production process and raw materials.

FCC certification

FCC certification involves more than 50 states in the United States, Columbia and the territories of the United States. In order to ensure the safety of radio and wire communication products related to life and property, the FCC Engineering and Technology Department (Office of Engineering and Technology) is responsible for the technical support of the committee. FCC approval is required for telecommunications, communication products and digital products to enter the US market.

CSA certification

CSA is the abbreviation of Canadian Standards Association, which is Canada’s first non-profit organization dedicated to formulating industrial standards. Electronics, electrical appliances and other products sold in the North American market need to obtain safety certification. CSA is currently the largest safety certification body in Canada and one of the most famous safety certification bodies in the world. It can provide safety certification for all types of products in machinery, construction materials, electrical appliances, computer equipment, office equipment, environmental protection, medical fire safety, sports and entertainment.

Wissenergy’s three main EVSE products have obtained most of the necessary certifications. For example, WB20 EV charger, MS Series cable and WS020 portable charger are all equipped with CE, FCC and other certifications, and WS020 portable charger has other more specific certifications not mentioned in this article, such as IK10 and IP66.

You deserve a guaranteed EV charging partner for this brand-new year!

Post time: Jan-19-2023

Leave Your Message:

Leave Your Message: